Eating A Clementine One Morning in Michigan

This is a short little piece I wrote while on a trip in Michigan. I liked how this poem turned out well enough, but this actually sat ignored in my notebook for a surprisingly long time because, this small moment aside, that trip actually went spectacularly awry and I didn’t enjoy thinking about even that nice morning afterwards, such a terrible time I had.

However, I recently decided to make myself reread my notebook from around that time, and remember the good pieces along with the bad.

Eating A Clementine One Morning in Michigan

I can’t say what’s sweeter;
These bits of sunshine made citrus flesh I piece into my mouth,
the bright crisp sky cradled by these still bare trees,
how it all hints of the coming spring,
or how I get to enjoy both
at once
on this fine day.

One thought on “Eating A Clementine One Morning in Michigan

  1. It doesn’t get better than a beautiful sky and citrus! I can picture the blue sky and crave the juice of a clementine through your poetry. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

Leave a comment